Canadian University Field Lacrosse Powered by Goalline Sports Administration Software

เลขบัญชี w88 _รหัส รับ เงิน ฟรี w88 _ดาวน์โหลด w88


2012 CUFLA Award Winners

12/12/12 Ottawa, ON – The Canadian University Field Lacrosse Association (CUFLA) is pleased to announce its 2012 league award winners and All Canadians. CUFLA had seven student-athletes drafted into the National Lacrosse League this season and a record six All-Canadians from British Columbia.

CUFLA commissioner Ryan McGrath said “CUFLA’s 28th season saw balanced play in both the regular and playoff season, with parity and ongoing rivalries among the league’s traditional powers. ?The Baggataway Cup remained in the East, as the McGill Redmen won the championship 7-6 in overtime, making McGill the fifth different team in as many years to win the championship.”

The 2012 National Lacrosse League’s (NLL) 24th overall draft pick, Mike Burke (Guelph Gryphons), led CUFLA’s regular season scorers in the West, amassing an amazing 58 points (42G, 16A) in 11 games to clinch the Western Conference Scoring Champion Award, following up on his Ontario Jr. A box-lacrosse scoring title.? Burke was selected as the league’s Most Outstanding Attackman.? In the East, former Peterborough Laker’s rookie of the year, Alex Henderson (Bishop’s Gaiters) claimed the Eastern Conference Scoring Champion Award, notching 46 points (26G, 20A) in 10 games.

Vancouver native and All-Canada-East midfielder Jishan Sharples (McGill Redmen) was voted as the league’s Most Valuable Player. A four-year McGill Principal’s honor roll student, Sharples led all McGill middies in goal scoring in the regular season (17G, 3A) and in the championship he scored the game winner in overtime against the University of Western Ontario. Sharples was also was named the MVP of the championship game.?

The NLL’s 2012 8th overall draft pick, Curtis Knight (Guelph Gryphons), was named the league’s Most Outstanding Midfielder. Knight’s impressive, two-way offensive and defensive skills resulted in 28 points during the regular season, while he emerged as a key defensive player for the Gryphons all season.

The Radovic Outstanding Defensive Player Award was won by Kyle Robinson (McGill Redmen), a native of New Westminster, BC and former captain of the New Westminster Salmonbellies. A 2012?McGill captain and previous two-time All Canadian defenseman, Robinson was instrumental in shutting down offensive threats from other teams and anchoring the Redmen defense and he also scored a crucial goal in transition in the championship game against Western.?

The Most Valuable Goalkeeper Award was awarded to ?Zach Grace (Western Mustangs). Grace stood out with his solid 5.48 GAA and league-leading 11-1 record. Grace had an impressive playoff performance with a 4.65 GAA and stopping 20 shots in the championship game to bring his team to overtime against McGill. Grace was also named runner up in the MVP selection process.

CUFLA’s Rookie of the Year honours were earned by Quinton Bradley (McGill Redmen), a native of Richmond, BC. Bradley stood out as an invaluable long stick midfield /defencemen (3G, 1A) and emerged as a starter in only his 1st year on the talented McGill squad.?

Western’s Ryan Cavanagh was named CUFLA‘s Outstanding Graduating Player.? A four year starter and three year captain of the Western Mustangs, Cavanagh helped anchor a defense the either led or tied for CUFLA’s west division lowest goals against average.? Cavanagh was a three time captain of Team Ontario U19, where he won two Brogden Cups (International U19) and two First Nations (Canadian U19) Championships. Cavanagh turned down multiple NCAA offers to attend Western's prestigious Richard Ivey School of Business.

The University of Western Ontario Mustangs Coaching staff of Jeremy Tallevi, Mike Frith and Matt Chambers?were?selected by their peers as 2012 Coaching Staff of the Year. The Mustang’s? phenomenal 11-1 season?was a marked?improvement from a 7-3 in 2011. Western is the first team in CUFLA history to ever defeat perennial power Brock three times, and they finished 1st place in their conference and took 2012 champion McGill to overtime in ?Baggataway finals. Western’s staff nurtured talent?at both ends of the field with highly capable offense and a renowned stingy defence.

Founded in 1985, the Canadian University Field Lacrosse Association is Canada’s premier university lacrosse league that features 13 university teams from Ontario and Quebec.




Goalline Sports Administration Systems